Main Menu

Much of the business of the Council is conducted by committees. The Council is organized into the following committees:


Executive Committee

Manages the affairs of the Board of Directors between board meetings.

Current members of the Executive Committee are: Chris Richmond, Rhonda Staats, Denise Jess, Steve Johnson, Kathy Brockman, and Loretta Himmelsbach (staff)

Awards Committee

Recognizes the achievements of individuals who are blind or visually impaired and organizations, businesses and individuals who assist or make special accommodations available to those who are blind or visually impaired.

Current members of the Awards Committee are: Deen Amusa, Kathy Brockman, Sharon Knauf, Steve Johnson, Rosemary Goodrich, Deen Amusa, Chris Richmond, Richard Johnson, Nona Graves, Loretta Himmelsbach (staff), and Justin Lemke (staff).

Finance Committee

Recommends policies that maintain and improve the financial health and integrity of the organization.

Current members of the Finance Committee are: Dan Sippl, Arnold Tucker, Kathy Brockman, Jo Grove, Tom Jeray, Chris Richmond, Chris Doering, Loretta Himmelsbach (staff), and Sue Cowan (staff).

Fund Development Committee

Creates policies in conjunction with the strategic priorities approved by the board to ensure adequate and diversified philanthropic sources to support the organization. 

Current members of the Fund Development Committee are: Chris Richmond, Kathy Brockman, Tom Peralta, Nona Graves, Deen Amusa, Annika Konrad, Rhonda Staats, Tom Jeray, Karen Heesen, Tom Peralta, and Lori Werbeckes (staff).

Legislative Committee

Initiates and oversees the governmental advocacy and educational outreach focus and direction of the Council.

Current members of the Legislative Committee are: Gary Traynor, Boni Westover, Neil Ford,  Richard Johnson, Dan Sippl, Chris Richmond, Jo Grove, Bruce Parkinson, Rhonda Staats, Patty Zallar, Steve Johnson, Tom Jeray, Tom Peralta, Karen Heesen, Loretta Himmelsbach (staff), and Gary Goyke (Legislative Liaison).

Personnel Committee

Recommends employed personnel policies; ensures salary ranges and benefits for staff are competitive; oversees the performance review of the Executive Director. 

Current members of the Personnel Committee are: Rhonda Staats, Chris Richmond, Nona Graves, and Loretta Himmelsbach (staff).

Recreation Committee

Promotes healthy lifestyles by initiating and coordinating recreational activities.

Current members of the Recreation Committee are: Steve Johnson, Tom Jeray, Chelsea Reilly, Gary Traynor, Chris Richmond, Becky Hajek, Janell Groskreutz, Renee Kuester-Sebranek, and Sharon Knauf.

Scholarship Committee

Supports the educational advancement of people with visual impairments through annual scholarship awards.

Current members of the Scholarship Committee are: Bruce Parkinson,  Karen Heesen, Chelsea Reilly, Chris Richmond, Denise Jess, Frank Lopez, Richard Johnson, Loretta Himmelsbach (staff), and Ray Cubberly (staff).

Nominating Committee

Establishes consistent policies and procedures for board members including recruitment, selection, orientation and termination of board members.  

Current members of the Nominating Committee are: Annika Konrad, Bruce Parkinson, Chris Richmond, Chris Zenchenko, Denise Jess, Karen Heesen, Steve Johnson.