Announcing the 2020 Council Scholarship Recipients

Photo collage of the 8 smiling people

2020 Scholarship Recipients

The Council is pleased to award eight students who are blind or visually impaired each with a $2,000 scholarship for the 2020-2021 academic year. The winners are as follows: 

  • Brandon Klas: Brandon is from Cedarburg, Wisconsin, and will be a sophomore at the University of Wisconsin – Whitewater studying business. 
  • Elena Santin: Elena is from Madison, Wisconsin, studies music and will be a sophomore at Lawrence University. 
  • George Tuttle: George, of Drummond, Wisconsin, will be a freshman at Carroll University, majoring in either public health or healthcare administration. 
  • Grace Caine: Grace is from Lowell, Wisconsin, and will be a freshman at the University of Wisconsin – Whitewater, studying instrumental music education. 
  • Joseph Tuttle: Joseph is from Drummond, Wisconsin, and will be a freshman at Purdue University, studying agricultural education. 
  • Kaitlyn Hippe: Kaitlyn is from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and will be a freshman at Calvin University in Grand Rapids, Michigan, studying education. 
  • Mia Zutter: Mia is from Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, and will be a senior at The College of Saint Scholastica in Duluth, Minnesota, majoring in psychology. 
  • Saree BehmSaree is from Janesville, Wisconsin, and will be a freshman at the University of Wisconsin – Whitewater, studying early childhood education. 

 To qualify for a scholarship, it was necessary for students to: 

  • Have a GPA of 3.0 or higher
  • Have a visual acuity of 20/70 or less in the better eye with the best conventional correction OR have a visual field of 20 degrees or less.
  • Be accepted into a vocational, technician, two- or four-year college/university
  • Complete the application and essay questions
  • Submit a Wisconsin state ID, vision report and letter of recommendation

In addition, the scholarship selection group looked for community involvement, examples of perseverance, and thoroughness/grammatical accuracy in essay responses when selecting the winners. Thank you to the selection group, which is comprised of board members, staff and community volunteers.  

The Council congratulates each of these young people and wishes them the best in the next academic year. Each student was awarded scholarship during a virtual ceremony on June 4. Watch for features of each student in upcoming issues of On Sight. 

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email